Tour: The Benefits of Breathing

By Christopher Meeks, January 29 – February 1

  • Purchase link: https://www.amazon.com/Benefits-Breathing-Other-Stories-ebook/dp/B086TTV72L/
  • Genre:  Literary short stories
  • Print length: c.240 pages
  • Suitable for young adults? This is an adult book but suitable for mature teenagers age 16+
  • Trigger warnings: No
  • Formats available for the Tour: mobi, epub, pdf. [sorry, no paperbacks!]
  • Amazon star rating: Not available – New Publication

If you would be interested in joining this tour as a reviewer, please contact us using the SIGN-UP FORM at the end of the page.

.

About The Benefits of Breathing

As Roderick Clark says in the Foreword, “It’s all about love, isn’t it?

In The Benefits of Breathing, Meeks dives again into the human condition, particularly within relationships. As one reader wrote on Amazon, “Some authors need a lot of words to describe their worlds and their people. Christopher Meeks says a lot with a little.” 

The Los Angeles Times has called his stories “poignant and wise.” In this volume, “A Dog Story” captures a crumbled marriage and the love of a dog named Scrappy. “Joni Paredes” shows the birth of a new relationship that starts at a daughter’s wedding. “Nestor by the Numbers” follows one man’s often hilarious online dating experiences after he finally accepts his wife is gone. “Jerry with a Twist” shows an actor on an audition while his pregnant girlfriend helps him through a crisis. These and seven other stories will bring you into the special world of Meeks.

As author James Jordan on Goodreads “My reward for reading Christopher Meeks’s marvelous collection of eleven stories, The Benefits of Breathing, was no less than an epiphany about great literature generally and specifically an insight into why this compendium of short fiction is great literature. ”      

“If you like Raymond Carver,” said author David Scott Milton, “you’ll love Meeks.”

About the Author:

Christopher Meeks first published short fiction in a number of literary journals, and the stories are available in award-winning collections, The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea and Months and Seasons. This third collection, The Benefits of Breathing, was published this year.

In between writing short stories, he’s focused on novels. The Brightest Moon of the Century centers on a man who yearns for love and success, covering over thirty years—a tale that Marc Schuster of Small Press Reviews describes as “a great and truly humane novel in the tradition of Charles Dickens and John Irving.” His next novel, Love at Absolute Zero, focuses on a physicist who uses the tools of science to find his soul mate–and he has just three days to do it. Blood Drama has Meeks edge into a thriller. Most recently, A Death in Vegas is a mystery. Now he’s joined Army veteran Samuel Gonzalez, Jr., for a visceral tour of Iraq with the men and women on the front lines in Baqubah in The Chords of War. It’s about a musician, kicked out of his own band, joining the Army for discipline. He plunges into the horrors of combat. He tries to hold on with his music.  

Media links:

—–

Reviewers – please complete the form below if you would like to take part in this Tour – January 29 – February 1

Availability: The table below tells you which tour slots are still available. We can squeeze in an extra reviewer when a slot registers as “full” but not when it registers as “over-full”!


.

a

%d bloggers like this: